The Toronto Maple Leafs (officially the Toronto Maple Leaf Hockey Club) are a professional ice hockey team based in Toronto, Ontario. They are members of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference of the National Hockey League (NHL). The club is owned by Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment, Ltd. and are represented by Chairman Larry Tanenbaum. With an estimated worth of US $1.1 billion in 2016 according to Forbes, the Leafs are the third most valuable franchise in the NHL, after the Montreal Canadiens and the New York Rangers. The team's broadcasting rights are split between BCE Inc. and Rogers Communication. For their first 14 seasons, the club played their home games at the Mutual Street Arena, before moving to Maple Leaf Gardens in 1931. The club moved to their present home, the Air Canada Centre in February 1999. The Maple Leafs were founded in 1917, operating simply as Toronto and known then as the Toronto Arenas. Under new ownership, the club was named the Toronto St. Patricks in 1919. In 1927 the club was purchased by Conn Smythe and renamed the Maple Leafs. A member of the "Original Six," the club was one of six NHL teams to have endured through the period of League retrenchment during the Great Depression. The club has won thirteen Stanley Cup championships, second only to the 24 championships of the Montreal Canadiens. The club's history includes two recognized dynasties, from 1946 to 1951; and from 1961 to 1967. Winning their last championship in 1967, the club's 50-season drought between championships is the longest current streak in the NHL. The Maple Leafs have rivalries with three NHL franchises, the Detroit Red Wings, the Montreal Canadiens, and the Ottawa Senators. The club is affiliated with two minor league teams, the Toronto Marlies of the American Hockey League, and the Orlando Solar Bears of the ECHL.
See also
All time